Tender: Albarn, Gallagher, Coxon & Weller

24 03 2013




Britpop’s Hatfields n’ McCoys share the stage…for a good cause

23 03 2013

Noel Gallagher, Damon Albarn, Graham Coxon and Paul Weller took the stage in London for the Teenager Cancer Trust give to play Blur’s “Tender.” I wish I had seen it and hope to hear a good quality copy of the performance. Pretty cool.

Noel and Damon make Britpop history

The Modfather (back) in the rag trade

22 06 2011

Paul Weller has teamed up with his best friend’s ornery little brother, Liam Gallagher, to put out a clothes line on Liam’s Pretty Green label. Pretty Green, of course, is a jam song, so it is fitting Paul would want to sell his designs through Liam’s label.

Who knows how much of Weller is in the actual line, but it gets his name. The noted clothes horse has designed gear in the past for Ben Sherman (a clothier I would wear all the time if I had the cash to burn.)

Weller’s Pretty Green stuff launches on June 23.


You can see his line here:

Finally heard the echoes round the sun

31 05 2010

I try to pay attention to what’s going on with my favorite artists.  The guys in Oasis are some of my favorite artists, especially Noel.

I know he’s a great friend of the Modfather (Paul Weller) but I was unaware of this song’s existence until about 5 minutes ago.  I like it.  It’s a great rocker.  It (at least the video) features Noel Gallagher on bass and the Modfather and Gem Archer on guitar.

Drummers named White

29 05 2009

Answer: He was a member of the Plastic Ono Band (John Lennon, Yoko Ono, Eric Clapton and Klaus Voorman)  and the band Yes and has played with a number of famous rockers including George Harrison, Joe Cocker, Ginger Baker and The Ventures.

Question: Who is Alan White?


Second from left.

Answer: He was the drummer of Oasis who replaced Tony McCarroll and was with the band from 1995 to 2004.

Question: Who is Alan White?


Answer: He was a seasonsed session drummer who, to the chagrin of the Ringo Starr and his fellow Beatles, was tapped by George Martin to record “Love Me Do” for single release.

Question: Who is Andy White?


Answer: He is the older brother of Alan White (Oasis) and has been the longtime drummer for Paul Weller, going back to his Style Council days.  He has also played with The Who.

Question: Who is Steve White?


Answer: She is the drummer of the White Stripes and was married to Jack White from 1996 to 2000.

Question: Who is Detroit’s own Meg White?


The Dreams We Have as Children. . .

3 04 2009

noeldreamschildren1The Sunday Times in London gave away a free CD of Noel Gallagher performing live at the Royal Albert Hall in support of the Teenage Cancer Trust.  Being a Yankee, I didn’t have access to the CD but, thankfully, a couple of fantastic Brits sent me copies.

I’m a huge Noel Gallagher fan.  I love Liam, too, but I’d listen to anything Noel put out, especially if he sings.  This free CD certainly doesn’t disappoint.

Paul Weller performs two songs with Noel, “The Butterfly Collector,” an old The Jam tune, and “All You Needs is Love.”  Probably the next best song on the disk is the Smiths’ ” There Is A Light That Never Goes Out.”  I’ve never cared a whole for Morrissey, but Noel’s treatment of this song gives me a new appreciation for it.

The rest of the songs are Oasis tracks.  Except for “Wonderwall,” there are no mega-hits.  Most of the songs are a bit slower like “Sad Song” or “Don’t Go Away.”

There are backing instruments like horns and such, but the disk has an unplugged feel to it.

For a free CD, you can’t beat this.  I’m not much into live albums and unplugged stuff, but this collection is fantastic.  If you are stateside, you might be able to download the songs from i-tunes.  Maybe you can get a hold of the free CD somewhere on the ‘net.  If you can get it, do it!

Noel Gallagher solo charity performances to be released March 16

10 03 2009

Live recordings by Noel Gallagher taken from his semi-acoustic performance at the Royal Albert Hall on 27th March 2007 in aid of Teenage Cancer Trust will be released next week.

‘The Dreams We Have As Children (Live for Teenage Cancer Trust)’ features classic and rare tracks from the Oasis canon along with several cover versions of some of Noel’s favourite artists. Songs by The Beatles and The Smiths are featured here along with a very special duet with Paul Weller performing The Jam’s ‘The Butterfly Collector’.

From Tuesday 10th March, The Times will print a link in the paper each day (for five days) which takes readers to a specific page on iTunes (www.itunes.co.uk) where they can download a different song each day for free. Then on Sunday 15th March, The Sunday Times will be giving away an 11 track CD with the newspaper which, alongside the downloads, gives readers the full tracklisting for ‘The Dreams We Have As Children (Live for Teenage Cancer Trust)’. A donation has been made to Teenage Cancer Trust in respect of the use of these recordings. On 16th March the full album will be available to buy digitally (only) from a selection of online retailers.

Oasis are long time supporters of Teenage Cancer Trust and are proud to continue their support. As well as Noel’s appearance with special guests in 2007, the band headlined the event in 2002. In addition Noel has made several guest appearances himself over the decade.

Songs available from iTunes (www.itunes.co.uk) – via The Times:

March 10th – (It’s Good) To Be Free
March 11th – Talk Tonight
March 12th – Cast No Shadow
March 13th – The Importance Of Being Idle
March 14th – Don’t Look Back In Anger

The Sunday Times free CD on Sunday 15th March:

1. Fade Away
2. Listen Up
3. Half The World Away
4. The Butterfly Collector
5. All You Need Is Love
6. Don’t Go Away
7. Sad Song
8. Wonderwall
9. Slide Away
10. There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
11. Married With Children

‘The Dreams We Have As Children (Live for Teenage Cancer Trust)’ is available to download from Monday 16th March:

1. (It’s Good) To Be Free
2. Talk Tonight
3. Fade Away
4. Cast No Shadow
5. Half The World Away
6. The Importance of Being Idle
7. The Butterfly Collector
8. All You Need Is Love
9. Don’t Go Away
10. Listen Up
11. Sad Song
12. Wonderwall
13. Slide Away
14. There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
15. Don’t Look Back In Anger
16. Married With Children


I can’t wait for this to be released.  I’m not terribly sophisticated when it comes to downloading music, so I’m not sure how easy it will be to get these songs via UK websites.  I hope we can get our hands on this here in the States.