Christmas Songs that Don’t Suck (or my favorite rock and roll Christmas songs)

17 12 2011

I can hardly stand to be in earshot of the radio stations playing holiday music this time of year.  The stations with all Christmas programming play the same 40-ish songs over and over and over and over…  I’ve heard no more than 2 to 2 1/2 hours worth of holiday music this season (while in banks and stores, at work, etc.)  and have heard “Happy Holidays” by Andy Williams no less than 4 times.  I’ve heard Gene Autry’s “Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer” about as many times.  A song I loved as a kid, “Wonderful Christmastime” by Paul McCartney is in constant rotation.  I could go on.

Besides most of them being trite and annoying, they’re simply overplayed.  When possible, I avoid “Christmas music,” at least the stuff not sung by choirs.  But I admit to having some fondness for a handful of more rocky holiday songs.  Some of them I probably like primarily because I like the artist who recorded them.  Others I like just because they’re catchy.  Here are some of my favorite rock Christmas songs.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

