(Finally) a solid Rock & Roll Hall of Fame class

7 12 2011

I’ve been grumbling for the last few years about who has and hasn’t been inducted in the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame.  The list of nominees for 2012 was very promising, at least compared to past classes.  The list of those that got the nod is solid!

  • The Small Faces/The Faces (Finally!)
  • Guns N’ Roses
  • Donovan
  • Beastie Boys
  • Red Hot Chili Peppers
  • Laura Nyro

http://rockhall.com/inductees

The band that I’m most pleased to see inducted is (are) actually two groups put in as one inductee, the Small Faces/The Faces.  Rod Stewart has been in the HOF for awhile but, in my opinion, he’d be nothing without the work of both The Small Faces, and the band that became something of his backing group, The Faces.  He’d probably be tending bar somewhere without those guys.  They’re massively influential bands and they’re actually rock n’ rollers!

In the late 80’s, early 90’s, Guns N’ Roses was probably the preeminent hard rock band.  Although they haven’t made music worth crap in 20 years, in their heyday, they were mighty.

I don’t own a single Chili Peppers album, but I love their rock-funk style.  Flea is one of the coolest bassists to come along in the last 40 years.

While I’m definitely critical of the RRHOF inducting hip-hop and rap artists, I back the induction of Beastie Boys.  They brought a lot of rock and roll into the music.  Check Your Head is still one of my favorite albums of my youth, and it rocked.  The Beasties crossed enough genres to, in my opinion, be considered  a rock group (in a loose sense.)

Donovan’s kind of cool for his unique blend of folk and psychedelic.  I dig his more rocky or poppy songs like “Sunshine Superman” and “Season of the Witch.”

I’ve never been much of a Laura Nyro fan, but I have no complaints about her induction.

There is little interest for me in the “Early Influences” and “Sidemen” categories.  I would say, though, that Glyn Johns is well deserving of his induction.  That guy has had his hands on the controls for many of the greatest rock records ever made.  Thumbs up, Glyn!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

