Thanks Chris!

27 04 2010

An acquaintance of mine at my gym talks to me every morning, often about music.  He’s in his 50’s, which might be in the older side for this kind of music, but is quite the Alice in Chains fan.  For reasons I don’t quite understand he assumed I would really like watching the Alice in Chains DVD, Music Bank, so he brought it in for me to borrow.

It took me the better part of two weeks but I finally got around to watching it.  I couldn’t tell you why, but I couldn’t get their songs out of my head for the next week after that.  “Man in the Box,” “Rooster,” “Them Bones,” and “Down In a Hole” cycled through my mind endlessly for days.

I think back in the early 90’s I liked AIC well enough but I’d hardly call myself a fan.  I saw them open for Van Halen on the Carnal Knowledge tour and was impressed.  But to listen to them off the radio is something I’ve never done.

I think what draw me most to the music was the horrific accounts of Layne Staley’s drug addiction and final days on earth.  The songs made me do some reading on the ‘net about his life and what I found was so tragic — I could somewhat identify having known friends and family with drug problems — that I couldn’t get it out of my mind.  Haunting.  Like the creepiest parts of Trainspotting, Layne’s story was hard to block out.

I say thanks to Chris for exposing me to the music which I had forgotten was often quite good.  But I also “thank” him for the funk that reading about AIC and Layne Staley put me in, emotionally, for a few days.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

