A tear to my eye

6 04 2010

I’m a sentimental guy but not in ways that most would expect.  I have yet to shed a tear for my mom’s dog, who was basically our second dog, who was put to sleep yesterday.  But sometimes I get choked up over a really good rendition of “The Star Spangled Banner.”

So I was surprised to see how moved I was by this song.  I got a lump in my throat listening to this in the book store today.  Now I feel like I must get Johnny’s album Ain’t No Grave.  This song, alone, makes it worth the purchase price.

Actions

Information

2 responses

14 04 2010
Seiber

I remember my grandpa listening to Johnny Cash out in his
garage doing woodwork. I was out there playing just to be near
him. And I liked the music but did not at the time think much more than
why does he listen to this music its so sad.
I treasure it now. And I figured out why he listened to it.
His old and newer songs choke me up too…

14 04 2010
ourboy

Thank you, “Seiber.” I have no history with Johnny Cash other than hearing “Ring of Fire” a lot on the radio as a kid. But some of his stuff is just incredibly moving and powerful.

Leave a Reply

