Crowes go disco

3 11 2009

I finally picked up the Black Crowes’ new album Before the Frost… I’ve not listened to it all the way through yet, but so far I like it a lot.

What really jumped out at me was the song “I Ain’t Hiding.”  My jaw almost dropped when I heard the funk/disco beat and the lyrics about club life in NYC, surrounded by songs awash in their typical southern rock din.

Listening to the Black Crowes do neo-disco took me back to the Rolling Stones work of the late 70’s/early 80’s.  Save for Mick Jagger’s exaggerated falsetto yelps, “I Ain’t Hiding” has a strong “Emotional Rescue” vibe.

It’s a good song.  It’s nice to see the Crowes move out of their musical comfort zone and experiment with other styles.  You can hear the song at the link below.

http://s0.ilike.com/play#The+Black+Crowes:I+Ain%27t+Hiding:137896704:s55836545.13491665.10599297.0.2.272%2Cstd_6b959d4b8aa64829bc0de8e2c5c87f9a

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

