Instrument buying spree

9 04 2009

As I’ve said here several times lately, I have been obsessed with bass guitar the last month or so.  It has been a long time coming.  Digging out the guitar, trying to re-learn it just wasn’t going to happen.  Almost 3 weeks ago, I bought an acoustic/electric bass.  https://soundofthepounding.wordpress.com/2009/03/24/my-new-baby/

It’s been great, but I’ve wanted an electric bass for versality.  I also knew I’d need an amp if I were going to play the acoustic anywhere in public, so I decided I would see if I could get some kind of package deal.

I stumbled across a 1997 Gibson Epiphone Accu-Bass in a pawn shop in Detroit.  It is in near perfect condition, plays well (at least to my untrained ears and fingers) and was a pretty good price.  I liked it better than a few brand new models that were higher priced.  I talked the shop owner into shaving a nice chunk off an 80 watt amp (Kustom KBA80) and walked out the door ready to play.

This isn’t my bass but it’s essentially identical.  I can’t wait to get home and play it as long as time and family commitments permit.

accubass

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

