So far, no good

9 03 2009

I just picked up the new U2 album, No Line on the Horizon, yesterday.  It would be completely and utterly unfair of me to review it since I’ve only listened to it a few times.  Many times in the past, I’ve had to listen to an album a dozen or more times to get a true feel for it and actually come to love it.

So far, though, NLOTH is uninspiring.  I have little interest in returning to it.  I think I heard 3 songs that sounded promising.  My strongest reaction to the album was, “Gee, U2 sounds an awful lot like Coldplay these days.”

How to Dismantle an Atomic Bomb, though maybe not their best work, really struck me positively the first run-through.  I loved that album (until it got overplayed by me and on radio.)  There is no similar reaction for me with NLOTH.

Maybe in time I will learn to love it.  So far, though, it’s nothin’ special.

u213

Actions

Information

2 responses

9 03 2009
jjackso15

I got it on iTunes the first day it was out and I see where you’re coming from. I think lyrically this album is a throw away. It just seems like Bono was on cruise control. Musically, give it another listen. The slower stuff is pretty good. It took me four or five go-rounds to feel the groove on it.

10 03 2009
ourboy

Thanks, JJ. I haven’t given up on it yet. I’m gonna listen to it some more today. But, so far, I find it a bit boring.

I think some of the songs that stood out to me were the slower ones.

Leave a Reply

