Beatles oversaturation?

8 03 2009

I’m as guilty of this as anyone.  I tend to write a lot about the Beatles because they have been my primary musical passion since I was five (we’re talking 32 years.)  As a music lover, it’s hard to ignore them, try as I might.  Lately I’ve found it hard to blog about anything else.

The last few days, though, I’m starting to feel like the Beatles are everywhere.  The Gap now sells Beatles t-shirts (at $35.00 a pop.)  Target has sold them for a few years.  Of course, a Beatles “Rock Band” is soon to be released.  Paul and Ringo are doing a benefit concert in New York.  Die hard fans got caught up in the buzz abou the leak of “Revolution 1” Take 20.  I’m finishing up Bob Spitzer’s Beatles book right now.

Beatles. Beatles. Beatles!

All this Beatles talk is  not necessarily a good thing.  To me, what they did was nothing short of magical.  I feel like too much Beatles stuff in public domain kind of spoils things.

Part of me would like to go back to the late 70’s, early 80’s, when it was un-cool to be a Beatles fan.  I’ll never forget an older neighbor teasing me for liking “old music” because I said the Beatles were the best.  His response was that I should listen to “cool bands” like…wait for it…REO Speedwagon and Foreigner.  I double over laughing everytime I remember that.  *wipes tear from corner of eye*

Maybe this is nothing more than a wave of excitement generated, in part, by the current crop of teens and pre-teens being introduced to the Fab Four.  The kids will carry on the Beatles torch and perhaps that’s all we’re seeing with this constant Beatles talk.

At least all this buzz is about Paul McCartney and not Jesse McCartney, it’s about the Fab Four and not the Jo Bros.

beatles-2

Actions

Information

3 responses

8 03 2009
mike

The Beatles are the best band ever. Their music is cool to listen to still. Sgt. Pepper and Abbey Road are two albums nobody will ever match now or in the future.

8 03 2009
ourboy

I agree completely! Thanks Mike.

18 05 2010
tgoodloe

It’s okay. Saturation cannot diminish true recognition of art. The way we experience The Beatles is real, and if other people want to come along for the journey, then I hope they find the same value that I always have.

Nothing’s gonna change my world, after all.

Leave a Reply

