Fear no more the heat o’ the sun*

5 03 2009

Sun. Gorgeous sun.  In these last days of winter, we’ve have so many bright, sunny days.  In the morning, the sun shines right through my office window, right onto my face.  What a wonderful feeling.  I’m getting so much sun I’ve been asked if I’ve been tanning.  The vitamin D is coursing through my veins.  I feel a burst of energy, an uptick in my mood.

All this gorgeous sunlight got me thinking about my favorite songs about the sun.  “Here Comes the Sun” is a bit too obvious, I admit, but is there a better song about the last gasp of winter?  “The Warmth of the Sun” is one of my favorite songs ever.  We (at my request) played that one at our wedding.   “Why Does the Sun Shine?” was taken from an educational record from the 50’s and popularized by They Might Be Giants.  I found this video of Sting amusing (and couldn’t find the TMBG version on youtube.)  “Sun King,” I like, because of its majesty and goofiness (an apparent contradiction, I know.)  The “Sun King” may have been Louis XIV of France, but I have always thought of this song as about our star, and not about him.  The sun is the king of our solar system.

Here comes the sun, here comes the sun,
and I say it’s all right

Little darling, it’s been a long cold lonely winter
Little darling, it feels like years since it’s been here
Here comes the sun, here comes the sun
and I say it’s all right

Little darling, the smiles returning to the faces
Little darling, it seems like years since it’s been here
Here comes the sun, here comes the sun
and I say it’s all right

Sun, sun, sun, here it comes…
Sun, sun, sun, here it comes…
Sun, sun, sun, here it comes…
Sun, sun, sun, here it comes…
Sun, sun, sun, here it comes…

Little darling, I feel that ice is slowly melting
Little darling, it seems like years since it’s been clear
Here comes the sun, here comes the sun,
and I say it’s all right
It’s all right

What good is the dawn
That grows into day
The sunset at night
Or living this way

For I have the warmth of the sun
(warmth of the sun)
Within me at night
(within me at night)

The love of my life
She left me one day
I cried when she said
I dont feel the same way

Still I have the warmth of the sun
(warmth of the sun)
Within me tonight
(within me tonight)

Ill dreams of her arms
And though theyre not real
Just like shes still there
The way that I feel

I loved like the warmth of the sun
(warmth of the sun)
It wont ever die
(it wont ever die)

The sun is a mass of incandescent gas
A gigantic nuclear furnace
Where hydrogen is built into helium
At a temperature of millions of degrees

Yo ho, its hot, the sun is not
A place where we could live
But here on earth thered be no life
Without the light it gives

We need its light
We need its heat
We need its energy
Without the sun, without a doubt
Thered be no you and me

The sun is a mass of incandescent gas
A gigantic nuclear furnace
Where hydrogen is built into helium
At a temperature of millions of degrees

The sun is hot

It is so hot that everything on it is a gas: iron, copper, aluminum, and many others.

The sun is large

If the sun were hollow, a million earths could fit inside. and yet, the sun is only a middle-sized star.

The sun is far away

About 93 million miles away, and thats why it looks so small.

And even when its out of sight
The sun shines night and day

The sun gives heat
The sun gives light
The sunlight that we see
The sunlight comes from our own suns
Atomic energy

Scientists have found that the sun is a huge atom-smashing machine. the heat and light of the sun come from the nuclear reactions of hydrogen, carbon, nitrogen, and helium.*

The sun is a mass of incandescent gas
A gigantic nuclear furnace
Where hydrogen is built into helium
At a temperature of millions of degrees

Here comes the sun king
Here comes the sun king
Everybody’s laughing
Everybody’s happy
Here comes the sun king

Cuando para mucho mi amore de felice corazón.
Mundo paparazzi mi amore chica ferdy parasol.
Questo abrigado tanto mucho que canite carousel

______________

* A beautiful line lifted from Shakespeare

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

