Albarn staring at the sun

20 02 2009

My mp3 player on shuffle played U2’s “Staring at the Sun” just as I lay back on the bench to do my skull crushers.  I hadn’t heard the song in a long time as it has been buried behind thousands of other songs on my player.  “Gosh, what does this first verse sound like?  This is really familiar.”

It bothered me the rest of morning at the gym, the nagging war in the mind between a lost memory and the battle to reclaim it.

Then it hit me.  The verse sounds just like part of one of Damon Albarn’s songs. I was pretty sure it wasn’t from a Blur song, so when I got to work today, I started going through Gorillaz tunes.  Sure enough, the song I was thinking of was “Feel Good, Inc.”  I’m not sure whether it is a verse of that song — there are so many bits to it — but it kicks in about 1:10 into the song, the bit that starts “Windmill, windmill…”

The first verse of “Staring at the Sun”

Summer stretching on the grass… summer dresses pass
In the shade of a willow tree creeps a crawling over me
Over me and over you stuck together with God’s glue
It’s going to get stickier too…
It’s been a long hot summer
let’s go undercover
Don’t try too hard to think… don’t think at all

The lifted portion of “Feel Good, Inc.” is

Windmill, Windmill for the land.
Love forever hand in hand
Take it all in on your strife
It is sinking, falling down
Love forever love is free
Let’s turn forever you and me
Windmill, windmill for the land
Is everybody in?

Mind you, I don’t think this is some sort of blatant rip off.  But George Harrison was sued (successfully) for a less blatant borrowing of “He’s So Fine.”

Both of these songs are great.  I like these twin verses the best.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

