Chopping up the White Album

7 01 2009

white-albumMojo The Magazine (one of my favorites) website has an interactive feature, “Towards A One-Disc White Album.”  Here’s the link.

http://www.mojo4music.com/blog/2008/07/towards_a_onedisc_white_album.html

The premise is based on George Martin having said (see the Anthology video series) that the White Album should have, in his opinion, been made into a really good single album instead of the double album that was issued.  The Mojo feature asks you, the fan, to craft the White Album as a single disc.  Sounds like fun.  It also sounds like a daunting task.  I figured I would take a stab at it here at The Sound of the Pounding.

My White Album will be issued on vinyl, like in the good old days, and will have two sides.  If I had to shrink this great record to one platter, I would give it 9 songs per side and it would probably look like this:

Side 1

  1. Back in the U.S.S.R.
  2. Dear Prudence
  3. Glass Onion
  4. While My Guitar Gently Weeps
  5. Happiness is a Warm Gun
  6. Why Don’t We Do It In the Road
  7. Blackbird
  8. I Will
  9. Julia

Side 2

  1. Everybody’s Got Something to Hide Except for Me and My Monkey
  2. Revolution #1
  3. Yer Blues
  4. Obla-Di-Obla-Da
  5. Sexy Sadie
  6. Martha My Dear
  7. Long Long Long
  8. Cry Baby Cry
  9. Helter Skelter

I played a bit more with the song order on side 2 than on side 1.  I like the idea of bookending the album with two of McCartney’s heavier numbers.  The album should start and end on high notes with bluesier songs (like Yer Blues or Revolution # 1) and ballads (Julia, I Will, Martha My Dear) sandwiched in between.

The only right way of doing this is to not do it at all.  The White Album is one of the greatest collections of songs in rock history.  The fans got a real bargain to get all that variety in one set.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

