Ten Albums (I Think) I Need

5 01 2009

The Pet Sounds Sessions [Box Set] or Pet Sounds audio DVD – Beach Boys. I have the cassette, but it’s long overdue I got a digital version.

pet_sounds
Costello Music – The Fratellis. Here We Stand is dynamite and most reviews I’ve seen say the debut album is better, so it must be super-duper dynamite.

thefratelliscostellomuslu1

Pacific Ocean Blue – Dennis Wilson. One of the most heralded (by music critics) albums that most of us have never heard. I love the Wilsons so this is a no-brainer.

dennis_wilson_pacific_ocean_blue2

The Stone Roses — The Stone Roses.  This is the album that (supposedly) launched  Brit Pop.  No Stone Roses = no Oasis, Blur, The Verve, etc., at least not as we have known them.  This is another album I’ve thought about buying a million times but never when I was at the store.

stone_roses

Cardinology – Ryan Adams & The Cardinals. I saw these guys with Oasis and was pretty impressed with their sound. Ryan as a solo artist is a known commodity. I have no idea how good this particular batch of songs is, but I’ve heard lots of good things about it. It’s on perma-hold at the local library so folks ’round here must like it.

cardinology

Electric Arguments – Firemen (i.e. Paul McCartney & Youth). It’s a little known fact that Macca was the original “avant garde Beatle,” the first to listen to experimental music and introduce primitive electronica (tape looping) to the band. Since 1994 he’s had an electronic music side project, Firemen. All the Brit music mags say Electric Arguments is good.

Music Review The Fireman

Johnny Cash at San Quentin – From the bits and pieces of film I’ve seen from the show, that might be one of the best live albums ever made.  Seems to capture Johnny at his best.

johnny_cash_at_san_quentinRattle & Hum – U2.  The Joshua Tree meets Under A Blood Red Sky, this half studio half live album is loaded with great material.  I just never bothered to get it.

rattleandhum

Electric – The Cult.  In my humble opinion, Electric is one of the 10 or 20 best (hard) rock and roll albums ever made.  I have some MP3s and the entire album on cassette, but it’s time to get my hands on the entire disc.

the_cult-electric_album_cover

Way to Normal – Ben Folds.  I loved Ben Folds Five.  I kind of lost track of Ben since he’s gone solo.  The two songs I heard from his latest release sound pretty good.

ben_folds-way_to_normal-album_art

Actions

Information

2 responses

16 09 2012
Elyse Howdershell

Ben Folds is back! I can’t stop watching the new vid for “Do it Anyway”
Check it out: http://bit.ly/OPp8oA

1 01 2013
Sean

I’ve not heard Ben Folds Five’s new album yet. I did here, though, that it was more like The Unauthorized Biography of Reinhold Messner than their previous albums.

Leave a Reply

